Tom Corbett, Governor Barry J. Schoch, P.E., Secretary, Department of Transportation

2013 Safety Poster Contest Winners

"At My Stop - You Stop!"

2013 Safety Poster Contest

Eleven student winners of the 2013 School Bus Safety Poster Contest were honored during ceremonies at the Governor's Residence in Harrisburg, Oct. 23. The students, in kindergarten through eighth grade, were honored for their winning entries in the 2013 School Bus Safety Poster Contest. The theme for this year's contest, "At My Stop - You Stop!," stressed the need for motorists to exercise caution near school bus stops and obey Pennsylvania's School Bus Stopping Law.

Attending the ceremonies were: (Front row, L to R) Division 1 - 3 rd Place, Kelsie Taylor, Glenside Elementary School, Glenside; Division 1 - 2 nd Place, Lauren Mark, Elmwood Elementary School, Mechanicsburg; Division 1 - 1 st Place, Tarun Kumar, Franklin Elementary School, Sewickley; Division 4 - 2 nd Place, Chevelle Hinderliter, West Forest Elementary School, Tionesta; Division 2 - 3 rd Place, Ava St. John, Wyncote Elementary School, Elkins Park. (Back row, L to R) Division 2 - 2 nd Place, Thomas Palotas, St. Luke School, Erie; Division 2 - 1 st Place, Eric Mole, Bradford Woods Elementary School, Bradford Woods, Division 3 - 1 st Place, Morgan Hechler, Mechanicsburg Middle School, Mechanicsburg; Division 3 - 3 rd Place, Joel Colledge, Everett Area Middle School, Everett; Division 3 - 2 nd Place, Daniel Hagenbuch, Mechanicsburg Middle School, Mechanicsburg. Not pictured: Division 4 - 1 st Place, Slade Gilbert, West Forest Elementary School, Tionesta.

2013 Safety Poster Contest Winning Entries

Division 1 (Grades Kindergarten - 2)

Division 2 (Grades 3 - 5)

Division 3 (Grades 6 - 8)

Division 4 (Special Education)

2013 Pennsylvania School Bus Driver Safety Competition

Six winners of the 2013 Pennsylvania School Bus Driver Safety Competition were also honored during ceremonies in Harrisburg, Oct. 23. The school bus drivers being recognized went head to head in a statewide competition in June, which tested their safety knowledge and skills in conventional and transit bus categories.

Attending the ceremonies were: (From L to R) Larry Hannon, 1 st Place - Conventional Bus, Centennial School District, Bucks Co.; John Choffel Jr., 1 st Place - Transit Bus, Girardat LP, Crawford Co.; Cheryl Glass, 2 nd Place - Conventional Bus, Methacton School District, Montgomery Co.; Karl Peters, 3 rd Place - Conventional Bus, Krapf Bus Companies, Chester Co.; John Welsh, 2 nd Place - Transit Bus, Lower Merion School District, Montgomery Co. Not Pictured: Arlen Sanden, 3 rd Place - Transit Bus, First Student Inc., Erie Co.

2013 PA School Bus Driver Safety Competition Winners


First Place - Larry Hannon, Bucks County; Centennial School District: Second Place - Cheryl Glass, Montgomery County; Methacton School District: Third Place: Karl Peters, Chester County; Krapf Bus Companies.


First Place - John Choffel Jr., Crawford County; Girardat, LP: Second Place - John Welsh, Montgomery County; Lower Merion School District: Third Place - Arlen Sanden, Erie County; First Student, Inc.

PennDOT would like congratulate all the winners and say thanks to all the students who participated in the school bus poster contest and all of the school bus drivers who participated in the driver safety competition.

State of PA Website Home Forms and Publications Shopping Cart PA State Agencies Online Services Shopping Cart